Raise! (1981)

earth wind and fire - raise


Earth, Wind & Fire had persevered through several stages of R&B evolution: from jazz to sweet soul, from sweet soul to funk, from funk to disco. And with 1981’s Raise! they once again made an effortless adaption from disco to the snappy boogie of modern R&B. It’s amazing that after 15 years EW&F could still compete with up-and-coming innovators like Rick James and Prince, but songs like “Let’s Groove” and “Lady Sun” don’t just hold their own, they excel. “My Love” is red-hued and sultry, but it still…




01     Let’s Groove
02     Lady Sun
03     My Love
04     Evolution Orange
05     Kalimba Tree
06     You Are A Winner
07     I’ve Had Enough
08     Wanna Be With You
09     The Changing Times
10     Let’s Groove (Special Remixed Holiday Version)
11     Kalimba Tree (Long Version)
12     Let’s Groove (Instrumental)